A Fix for Firefox 52+

Discussion in 'Archive' started by VMK_Simba, Mar 15, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. VMK_Simba

    VMK_Simba Forums Administrator Staff Member Forums Administrator Game Administrator myVMKPal Creator MyVMK Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    51
    In-Game Name:
    VMK_Simba
    Update: If Firefox has updated since you last applied this fix, you may have to do it again. Apparently Mozilla clears the option when you update Firefox. It still works however (as of version 52.0.1). Follow the instructions at the bottom of the post for a more long-term solution.

    Hey everyone!

    We are aware of the issue with the black screen on Firefox version 52, and have a fix for you!

    Our recommended way to play MyVMK is to use myVMKPal (www.myVMKPal.com), however, you can absolutely keep using Firefox.

    Though you can do certain things such as downgrade your version of Firefox back to 51 (not recommended as you will not receive security updates), or install Firefox 52 ESR instead, there is a solution that does not require you to install new software. Here's how to go about that.

    Quick note: If the following does NOT work for whatever reason, you can always follow the instructions contained in the spoiler at the bottom of this post for how to downgrade or install Firefox 52 ESR.
    1. In Firefox, type "about:config" (no quotes) in the URL bar and press enter.
      1. If it warns you about voiding the warranty, you can click the button to continue. It's fine don't worry.
    2. Right click on this page and selected New>Boolean.
    3. Set the preference name to "plugin.load_flash_only" (no quotes) and click Ok.
    4. Set the boolean value to "false" (no quotes) and click Ok.
    5. Restart Firefox (if necessary, it may work without needing to restart FF)
    That's it! Firefox should now once again be able to load Shockwave and you will be able to get into MyVMK once again. Hope this helps anyone that may be having issues!

    Note: There's no guarantee of this working long term. Firefox 52 ESR, however, should work until early 2018.

    Either of the below alternatives will also work to re-enable Shockwave in Firefox, should the plugin flag not work.

    Installing Firefox 52 ESR (Recommended)
    If you want to install the extended support release of Firefox 52 (recommended over downgrading for security reasons), you can follow these steps.
    1. Uninstall Firefox 52 completely
      1. Use the Add/Remove Programs window in the Control Panel
    2. Install Firefox 52 ESR from either of the links below
      1. 32-Bit Windows: https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/52.0esr/win32/en-US/Firefox Setup 52.0esr.exe
      2. 64-Bit Windows: https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/52.0esr/win32/en-US/Firefox Setup 52.0esr.exe

    Downgrading to Firefox 51.0.1

    If you want to downgrade to the old version of Firefox instead, follow these steps.
    1. Uninstall Firefox 52 completely
      1. Use the Add/Remove Programs window in the Control Panel
    2. Install Firefox 51.0.1 from either of the links below
      1. 32-Bit Windows: https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/51.0.1/win32/en-US/Firefox Setup 51.0.1.exe
      2. 64-Bit Windows: https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/51.0.1/win64/en-US/Firefox Setup 51.0.1.exe
    3. Disable automatic updates using the instructions from Mozilla (link below)
      1. https://support.mozilla.org/t5/Mana...work-updates-and-other/ta-p/3333#w_update-tab
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017
    HOST_Nala and Porcupine like this.
  2. Porcupine

    Porcupine The White Andre 3000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    142
    In-Game Name:
    Olly
    This is why youre king of the jungle pal
     
    HOST_Nala likes this.
  3. Computer_boy

    Computer_boy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    8
    In-Game Name:
    JustinCB
    Any word on a fix for Macs?
     
    SweetTea and Pixie.Dusted like this.
  4. ogbrat

    ogbrat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    In-Game Name:
    ogbrat
    Thank you so much lol
     
  5. Dancer_Olaf

    Dancer_Olaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,588
    Likes Received:
    454
    In-Game Name:
    brianaballarina
    Thanks so much myvmk pal is great ur awesome ty for this update!
     
  6. Hypnotic

    Hypnotic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    482
    In-Game Name:
    Hypnotic
    @aiyana because you commented on a separate forum. :)
     
    aiyana likes this.
  7. aiyana

    aiyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    44
    In-Game Name:
    Aiyana
    Thank you so much!! I appreciate it <333
     
  8. ChromeDemonxXx

    ChromeDemonxXx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    In-Game Name:
    Chrome
    Still not working for me. Getting "The shockwave for director plugin has crashed" each time.
     
  9. VMK_Simba

    VMK_Simba Forums Administrator Staff Member Forums Administrator Game Administrator myVMKPal Creator MyVMK Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    51
    In-Game Name:
    VMK_Simba
    You may need to uninstall and re-install shockwave.
     
  10. Cowboy_Pirate

    Cowboy_Pirate Princess Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    3,445
    Likes Received:
    1,252
    In-Game Name:
    Cowboy_Pirate
    So I did this and it said "pluggin is missing" so I removed and redownloaded shockwave&flash and now its back to a black screen

    Edit: Thanks to @Marleigh I can get in now <3
    --- Double Post Merged, Jun 26, 2017 ---
    @saturn hopefully this will help if the regular firefox page isnt working!
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2017
  11. pixiechick27

    pixiechick27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    75
    In-Game Name:
    pixiechick
    @Cowboy_Pirate my firefox seems to be having the same issue. what did you do to fix yours? maybe if im lucky it could fix mine too lol
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Cowboy_Pirate

    Cowboy_Pirate Princess Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    3,445
    Likes Received:
    1,252
    In-Game Name:
    Cowboy_Pirate
    @Marleigh sent me a link and I uninstalled Firefox and reinstalled it using that link but I don't have the link anymore x:
     
  13. pixiechick27

    pixiechick27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    75
    In-Game Name:
    pixiechick
    oh dang that stinks lol
     
  14. Marleigh

    Marleigh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    102
    In-Game Name:
    Marleigh
    Unfortunately I can't remember where I found it, but I do remember googling old firefox versions and finding a free download of an older version! Search around and you should be able to find one that works for you :)
     
    pixiechick27 likes this.
  15. Mikai

    Mikai New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have done all of the above and I'm still not able to play. I'm always in the DC loop at Fantasyland page for almost three weeks now. :-( I am a new returning player. I have Windows 10 on my laptop.
     
  16. StormDogs

    StormDogs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4,160
    Likes Received:
    490
    In-Game Name:
    LtBenson
  17. Mikai

    Mikai New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^ I just sent them an email. I hope it gets fixed soon. Thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.