VMK's Impact IRL ~

We’re all something.

We can all identify ourselves with a single word.

Some of us are students. Maybe an employee. A mom or dad. A sibling. A son or daughter. An athlete. A really good friend. Anything. But something.

I’m a student, a sorority sister, a real life sister, and a daughter. That's what I identify myself as.

The more I play VMK, the less I identify with any of these.

The more I play VMK, the less I identify with ANYTHING other than “obsessive VMK player.”

Every since I found out about VMK’s kind of re-opening (in February,) I grew addicted quickly. I’ve been playing with purpose to accumulate items and make friends and be cool and known for something on here. My main goal this summer was to get as much as I could on VMK before I have to go back to school and I don’t have as much time to play. And I’ve gotten pretty far in these past 3 months. I’ve made some of the most AMAZING friends on this game. I’ve gotten so close to people that some of them are coming over for Thanksgiving, I’m driving up to see one of them in 3 days, and I’m making plans to go to Disneyland with others. It’s been a cool ride.

Wait for the cliche.

I’ve played so much in these past 3 months that I’ve 100% lost sight of what matters. I’ve lacked as a student. I’ve lacked as a sister. And I’ve lacked the hardest as a daughter.

As cliche as it is, it's SO accurate.

I’ve played so much in these past 3 months that I’ve become more invested in furthering and facilitating the growth of my online/virtual friendships than my real life, long term, existing friendships.

It’s taken me 3 months to realize what a lacking friend I’ve become.

I got banned yesterday (for something I think is slightly ridiculous, but that’s besides the point.) As soon as I got banned, I started laughing because it’s like, okay, this is funny, I’ve never been banned. Whatever. I guess this gives me a reason to have a day to myself, right? Right.

Wrong.