Trying to learn a second language

First of all I would like to say kudos to anyone who knows more than one language. I'm currently minoring in Spanish in college and it's kicking my butt. Other than traveling abroad, which is definitely something I plan on doing, does anyone have any good tips?

edit; I realized there are already threads on this subject, so feel free to remove to remove clutter and whatnot. If anyone has any good techniques I would very much appreciate it! Feel free to PM me. :)

Jasmine

Immersion is best. Read books, speak the language (such as with a study-buddy, but if you know a native speaker, that's even better! You may want to look into italki for speaking opportunities), set your phone to the language, watch shows in the language, etc...
I'm minoring in french btw xD

supernovagirl

My major is French lol and I listen to music, watch movies, and read books! Also, I read news articles written in French (this also helps me stay up to date on what's happening around the world).

asyuna

The best way to learn a language is to surround yourself around it as much as you can. I live in Italy and before moving here I didn't know ANY Italian (seriously I didnt even know how to say hi). But I've picked up so much of it now by hearing it and seeing it around me constantly. I use the app Duolingo as well.
DONT spend your money on Rosetta Stone....you don't learn anything. Im happy I didn't buy it.

Thanks everyone! I've never heard of italki before, but I will definitely be looking into it! I've tried watching tv shows in Spanish, but my listening skills are what I find to be most difficult I suppose. Has anyone ever tried to read a book they've read in English to another language? I might try that with the Harry Potter series..

Jasmine